Why Should I Memorize God’s Word?

Every Monday for the last 9 weeks, I’ve posted the Memorize Mondays meme. Due to a busy travel schedule and a little technical glitch, this week’s post had to be delayed.  If you’ve been following Memorize Mondays, Week 10 will be posted next Monday.

Memorizing scripture is hard for me.  I’ve struggled at times to find the motivation.  And it’s no surprise that since beginning to post the Memorize Mondays meme, the struggle has increased even more.  Clearly, the enemy doesn’t want me to “hide God’s Word in my heart.”  As I’ve asked the Lord for help, I’ve sought out teaching on memorization and meditation.   Why Memorize Scripture? by John Piper succinctly communicates the value of memorization for the believer.  In the article, Piper lists six reason why memorization is essential to the Christian life.  This quote from the article by Charles Swindoll sums it up:

“I know of no other single practice in the Christian life more rewarding, practically speaking, than memorizing Scripture. . . . No other single exercise pays greater spiritual dividends! Your prayer life will be strengthened. Your witnessing will be sharper and much more effective. Your attitudes and outlook will begin to change. Your mind will become alert and observant. Your confidence and assurance will be enhanced. Your faith will be solidified” (Growing Strong in the Seasons of Life [Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 1994], p. 61).

This mini-sermon (also by Piper) helps to drive these points home.

2 responses

  1. Memorization is always difficult for me as well. I actually memorize rather quickly, but the references don’t seem to want to stick and my memory paraphrases for me so a couple weeks later I’m left with “somewhere in John . . . or is it Luke . . . I’m not sure, but it says something about . . .”

Thanks so much for stopping by! Would love to hear your thoughts!

