The Homeschool Mother’s Journal

The Homeschool Chick

In my life this week…

It’s been a week of sickness…fevers, coughs, colds…and general “ick”.  I’ve been slowly recovering from all of the aforementioned symptoms, and Jimmy spent the better part of the week suffering through the worst of them.  He’s better now…happily spending today playing with his cousins after nearly a week of quarantine!

In our homeschool this week…

Our homeschooling routine definitely suffered this week as a result of the sniffling and hacking, but we managed to cram a few things in so that Jimmy would be prepared for his co-op classes on Monday.  On Thursday he did a whole week’s worth of McCall-Crabbs Reading Comprehension Tests.  His cold did not affect his scores.  Check out the last three grade equivalent scores on the bottom of the page.  By the way, he’s in first grade.  Yeah.  The boy can read!

Places we’re going and people we’re seeing…

Last night Jim and I went to hear GreenChoby.

Nearly 15 years ago, Carolyn Green and Mike Choby served on staff (though not at the same time) with the ministry that my husband and I served with.  During Mike’s tenure with the  ministry, Jim introduced Mike to Carolyn, and the rest, as they say, is “musical history!”  It’s been several years since we’ve heard them perform, but last night we were able to see them at a local coffee house…and it was wonderful.  It was dark…and all I had with me was my iPod, so sorry about the bad picture…

If GreenChoby is ever in your area, definitely go give them a listen!  Want a sample?  You can listen to a couple of their songs here: Carry Me Back Home and Patience . More information about Mike and Carolyn and their upcoming events can be found here on the Official GreenChoby Facebook Page.

What’s working/not working for us…

Everything having to do with language is working for us.  I love Shurley English.  I love SWR (Spell to Write and Read.)  I love McCall-Crabbs.

Everything having to do with math is NOT working for us.  In this area, we’re really struggling.  We’ll keep plowing through it, but I have a feeling we’re going to have to make a change.  Grrr…I hate changing curriculum!!

Homeschool questions/thoughts I have…

Many of my homeschool thoughts and questions get asked/discussed over on my other blog!  Please consider this an official invitation to join me  and my very talented co-author (and stay-at-home homeschool dad), Arby, over at The Homeschool Apologist!

And every Thursday during January and February, some of my answers to common Homeschool Questions can be found over on The Homeschool Village Panel!

A photo to share…

Here’s the look I got early this week when I asked the question, “How are you feeling?”

Interested in joining this weekly meme?  Join the fun HERE!

3 responses

  1. Linda,
    I’m so glad that you linked up with me this week. I’d have to agree with you, switching curriculum is the worst!!! I hope you find a Math program to work for you very soon. You’ll be in my prayers for sure.

    I just love your picture. Your little guy is just precious!

    Blessings to you,
    Sue 🙂

Thanks so much for stopping by! Would love to hear your thoughts!

