A Return to “Normal”

The summer convention season has come to an end.

Vacation is over, too.

And a return to “normal” is my goal for this week.  I know….some of you who know us well are thinking to yourselves “Normal?  Really?!?!?”  Well, believe it or not, we CAN do normal.   But only occasionally…and usually in small doses.

Anyway, every year during the spring and summer months, I travel the homeschool convention circuit, representing Alpha Omega Publications at conventions all over the country.   When you think about it, it’s not unlike being a traveling carnival worker…unload, set up, do business, tear down, move on and do it all over again.  Over the last 6+ months, I have spent time with homeschoolers in Indiana, Colorado, Illinois, Kentucky/Ohio, Pennsylvania, Massachusetts, Oklahoma, Washington, Virginia, Texas, and Georgia.  I absolutely LOVE this part of my job!  While officially I am there to sell a particular curriculum, I also have the opportunity to “sell” homeschooling…and that is, without a doubt, the best part of the job!!  I love encouraging and supporting homeschoolers.  The shell-shocked, deer-in-the-headlights ones are my favorites.  I love being a part of their transition from nervous and unsure “I-can’t-do-this” homeschoolers, to confident “I-can-do-anything” homeschoolers.   It makes me feel like I’ve helped to create a successful homeschooler.  I guess in a way, it’s my art-form….and it feels great!

But, alas, I’m done traveling until next March.

Convention Setup

Darcy helping one of our customers....

Vacation is over too.  I’ve been lucky enough to spend nearly 3 out of the last 4 weeks in the beautiful Northwoods of Wisconsin.  My parent’s cottage is nestled in the woods next to the most gorgeous lake in the entire world!  On a sunny day you can clearly see the sandy bottom through 20+ feet of crystal clear water.  It’s a wonderful place to relax and forget about the regular demands of life.  Swimming, skiing, kayaking, tubing, sailing, reading, star-gazing, and just doing nothing, are among the activities that vie for my attention while I’m in North-nowhere-Wisconsin.  Rarely does anything “pressing” require my attention.  It’s a wonderful place to be.  But that kind of idyllic existence is only realistic for a time…eventually, life beckons.

But just before I get back to my “real” life, and so you won’t think I’m lying about the beauty and fun we enjoyed in the lovely Northwoods, here are a few pictures (mostly taken by my two talented daughters) from our wonderful vacation!

Jimmy and Darcy

Jimmy

Daddy skiing

Still got it!

Darcy and Lydia

Beautiful

Clouds over the lake

Nina's swing

Sunset over Stormy

Down the deer path

Okay…bring on the normal.

Join the Hop!!

Photobucket

15 responses

  1. Linda! How did I miss your blog?? It’s wonderful!! Your pics of your parents’ hideaway look like heaven – a cabin on a lake is my favorite place to be!

    I definitely was one of your deer-caught-in-headlight-newbies a little over a year ago, and thanks to you and Paula I took the jump! It has been good ❤ ❤ ❤

    • Thanks, Sennu!!! We’re even then, because I LOVE your blog, too!! And it’s such a joy to have been able to be a small part of your homeschool journey! Thanks for stopping by!

  2. I’m glad you’re back to normal. Though I don’t quite believe it! ;o)
    “Looks” like you had a wonderful time. Your girls took some great shots.
    And your “baby” is growing up way too quickly! Just sayin’….

Thanks so much for stopping by! Would love to hear your thoughts!

