Homecoming: A First for this Homeschool Family

My youngest daughter, a senior in highschool, went to Homecoming on Saturday night with a large group of kids from our youth group. (Nina is the one in dark red.) I guess the pictures below help answer a critically important question homeschoolers must answer regarding socialization and the homeschooled child. 


"But if you homeschool, won’t your kids miss out on homecoming?"

Photobucket

Photobucket

You can see Nina is a miserably lonely homeschooled  girl with absolutely nothing to do on a Saturday night!  Maybe I should send her to school!

4 responses

  1. Poor Nina – it looks like she's really suffering from having been unsocialized all her life!

    Thanks for stopping by…I feel like I already know you a bit through Arby, but it's nice to "meet" you face-to-face! 🙂

  2. It's horrible what you're doing to your daughter. It's abusive, plain and simple. Giving her a good education. Allowing her to attend a dance. Horrible….simply horrible….

  3. she looks like she's having fun! People really don't get it, do they?

    A couple of years ago a professional person said to me if Blondie is homeschooled she would miss out on prom. I answered: she's in THIRD GRADE! I have a couple of years to think about it.

    I never went to prom – none of the kids in my youth group did. However, our church did give us a very nice party and overnight at the Holidy Inn – dinner poolside and all. It was very nice. And it prompted my favorite note in my year book: Dear Blondie, I'll never forget the night we spent at the Holiday Inn, Love Russ.

    I don't think that's what the church had in mind….

Thanks so much for stopping by! Would love to hear your thoughts!

