Starting Over

This week I begin my 18th year of homeschooling.  Even as I sit here typing away, I’m waiting for my 18th box of curriculum to arrive in the mail. (in the early years I NEVER would have started this late!!)  In the years since we first began this journey, we’ve lived in six houses in two states.  I’ve used materials from more than ten different curriculum companies and gone on more field trips than I care to count.  I’ve watched two of my students go on (successfully!) to college and am about to launch the third into life beyond homeschool.  With just a few credits needed to graduate, this should be a pretty easy year for us.  And with that I should be done.  Should be.

 

–Flashback–

Most people remember March 19, 2003 as the start of the “shock and awe” campaign in Iraq.  We remember that date for a very different reason.  Oh, it was “shock and awe” alright—but of a very different kind. 

 

I woke up that day feeling just a teensy bit queasy.  I was just a couple of days late, but that’s not all that surprising for a woman skipping merrily down the road toward “the change.”  Just the same, I thought I’d better check it out.  I still have the little stick that confirmed my never-imagined fears! 

 

Yep. 

 

Positive.

 

Pregnant. 

 

So I stared at that little “+” sign, silently willing it to fade away and whispering the only thought my mind would allow. “Oh, no. Oh, no. Oh, no.”  Of course my next thought was to call my husband, never thinking that perhaps it would be wise to prepare him for the most unexpected of news.  Surprisingly, he accepted my words calmly and logically.

 

“No, honey.  You’re not pregnant.  It’s just menopause.”

 

It seemed at the time that I had just two options.  I could allow him to enjoy his self-protective fantasy for a few days, or I could burst his bubble quickly and painlessly.  I chose the latter.

 

“Honey, menopause causes many strange, even inexplicable signs and symptoms, but I really don’t think it causes positive pregnancy tests.” 

 

Later that same day, the Americans dropped some really big bombs in Iraq.

 

 

–Back to the present–


So here I am.  I should be starting the final lap of the homeschool phase of my life, but instead I find myself crouching at the starting line.  Again.  The books just arrived.  Little “shock and awe” is sitting on the living room floor excitedly looking everything over, imploring me “Mommy, can you teach me now?”  I really didn’t think I’d ever be here again. 

 

13 more years of books, schedules, lesson plans, records, field trips, frustrations, and joys.


When he graduates I’ll be 58.

 

Is it too early for a drink?

 

11 responses

  1. Tee hee! I'm with you! The other day Annaleigh announced to me that when she turns 18, the baby will be turning 6…just starting my homeschool journey with that one. I'm glad though. The last thing I want to do in my old age is have to go get a job, which is what I think Big D would make me do if I didn't have a munchkin at home to teach.Edited by kellieann on 2 September 2008 at 4:27 PM

  2. Wow. that happened to my mom when I was 18 and suddenly my baby brother was on his way.:)

    I hate how homeschool blogger does this thing where you can't see the post when ou are writing the comment. I had somethign else to say but have a headache and completely forgot. Oh well, I liked the post but can't remember what I was going to say.

  3. And to think we planned it this way!
    Amanda will be 19 in Oct, and LL is 15m.

    Of course, I also have a 3yo, a 5yo and a 8 and 11yo to teach all the while as I move toward her graduation when I am around 57.
    Sounds like an awesome plan to me. What better do I have to do with my life? Please the Lord as I love on my children AND grandchildren! How awesome.

    Have a fantastic year this year! I am almost ready to start. I have the about times planned, I just need the specifics! I am looking forward to a great year.

    blessings my friend!
    http://jacquedixon.com

  4. And to think we planned it this way!
    Amanda will be 19 in Oct, and LL is 15m.

    Of course, I also have a 3yo, a 5yo and a 8 and 11yo to teach all the while as I move toward her graduation when I am around 57.
    Sounds like an awesome plan to me. What better do I have to do with my life? Please the Lord as I love on my children AND grandchildren! How awesome.

    Have a fantastic year this year! I am almost ready to start. I have the about times planned, I just need the specifics! I am looking forward to a great year.

    blessings my friend!
    http://jacquedixon.com

  5. I don’t have 18 years underneath my belt, just 4. But, I am only a couple of years behind you in age, and I will see my youngest graduate when I am 57. So, no, you may not start drinking, unless I can join you. Yes, you can start when your youngest graduates, but allow me to join you. I think dinner for four is in order, and I’ll treat.

  6. And I thought my parents were old. But maybe they still are, since my mom was 33 when my older sister was born.

    God bless you.

    Maria Pauline
    beautifulgraceblog.wordpress.com

  7. Many blessings to you as you enter another wonderful year of homeschooling! I bet your kids sure appreciate all your hard work and love you put into their lives!

  8. It'll be all right. Just take a nice little cruise and get one of those fancy drinks with little umbrellas in them!

    This is the first time I've dropped by your blog. I enjoyed it and looking around.

    Michelle in Japan

  9. And hey, I'll be 57 when my fourth is 18. I was contemplating today that there are mothers a full 20 years younger than I am. Boggles the mind.

    Missing you over on Naperville Home Educators group…hope you might chime in again soon!

    Blessings, Holly

Thanks so much for stopping by! Would love to hear your thoughts!

