Tagged Out of Blogging Oblivion!


Arby tagged me. 
Thanks, Arby…all work and no play IS making Prodoceo a dull girl!!  And if you haven’t read his 6 quirky things….be sure and head over to his blog.  The guy is very funny.

Here’s the deal. The tag is entitled "6 Quirky Things."  Here are the rules:

  • Link back to the person who tagged you.
  • Mention the rules on your blog
  • Tell about 6 unspectacular quirks of yours
  • Tag 6 fellow bloggers by linking to them
  • Leave a comment on each of the tagged blogger’s blogs to let them know they’ve been tagged.

So here are six unspectacular, quirky things about me….try to stay awake okay??

    1. I’m old enough to be my son’s grandmother.  But even though I’m 45 and mostly gray, no one has yet mistakenly identified me as such…at least not to my face! 

      Photobucket
      I started going gray at about 25 years old.  I started dying my hair when I was about 30 and stopped when I was about 38.  I NEVER got compliments on my hair when I had brown hair.  Now that my hair is mostly gray, I get constant compliments.  Go figure.

    2. Okay, so maybe I am a bit uncoordinated.  In 1976, after watching the olympic pairs skaters, my dad and I decided to try some tricks of our own.  I fell.  Dad tried desperately not to crush me (thanks Dad!) and broke his wrist. Call that the end of my olympic skating career…and my dad’s.  I also broke my back doing a somersault in a college gym class (T8 compression fracture.)  I was immediately taken to the closest hospital…which also happened to be the hospital closest to Chicago’s infamous housing project "Cabrini Green."  I spent several hours in the emergency room surrounded by gurneys bearing addicts, alcoholics, and nutcases.  It was easily the most terrifying few hours of my life.  And call that the end of my olympic gymnastics career.

    3. My uncoordinated gene is definitely dominant. My daughters take after me in the athletic coordination department, however I did manage to produce three girls who are bigger sports FANS than most of their male peers…especially hockey.  They could probably beat just about anybody in a "what do you know about hockey" contest.  Darcy even had her Blackhawks Fan Blog featured on the front page of the NHL Website for a few days.  And Jimmy, our one and only hope of hockey stardom, is possibly even more uncoordinated than his sisters!  Trust me on this one…he will NEVER be a hockey player.

    4. I am a diehard Chicago Cubs Fan!  That may seem quirky to some, but this year….well, being a Cubs Fan might just turn out to be the stuff of dreams! 

      Photobucket

    5. I’ve been blessed with a fair amount of musical talent.  My musical gifts (and penchant for drama) were passed down to my son.  Sort of.
    6. I love laying out on my parent’s pier in the middle of the night in mid-August looking at the stars and watching for meteors.  The occasional appearance of the Aurora Borealis, the cries of the loons, the howling of coyotes, and the incredibly outrageous conversation "Send help for Suri!!" make this annual experience the highlight of my entire year! 

So now I have to tag six more lucky bloggers. Sorry gang.  I show up after 3 months away and tag you!  Oh well, blame Arby!

4 responses

  1. Good to "see" you….even if it is a tag! I'll get to this sometime next week…if I can think of 6 quirky things about me. I'm a very normal person, ya' know.

    Oh…and I'm totally with you on the Cubs thing! This is an exciting year.

  2. Great post! Thanks for comig out and playing. Now, how about…once a week? Cool? The video clip of your son is fantastic. He's great. Wish I could get excited about the Cubs this year, but…the magic is gone. For all sports, really. I just don't pay attention anymore. It really is good to see you back!

Thanks so much for stopping by! Would love to hear your thoughts!

