Photo Hunter: Free

(On February 14, 2008, a gunman walked into a classroom on my daughter’s campus (Northern Illinois University) and shot 22 people, killing 5.  The crosses above were erected to memorialize those who died.)

This week’s Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket theme is FREE. 

I took this picture of my niece almost 6 years ago at a family reunion.  For me, it has always symbolized everything that is good about living in the United States of America….especially freedom. However, today I am struck by the stark reality that freedom carries a price.  In a free country, a gunman is free to walk into a crowded classroom and open fire. Despite this, I thank God for our freedom and remember that ultimate freedom is found in Jesus Christ. 

John 8:36  "So if the Son sets you free, you are truly FREE!"  

Photobucket

40 responses

  1. I think the song I remember was from the "UP with People" group in the eighties: "Freedom isn't Free!" Nice picture that–Nice composition and perfect for the theme.

  2. glad your daughter was safe.
    thanks for your visit & comment @ <a href=http://www.morgenfiles.blogspot.com/ title=”It’s A Blog Eat Blog World”>It’s A Blog Eat Blog World</a>

  3. Your message is sad but true. The same thing is happening in South Africa but worse. We have to fear for our lives every day because of the amount of crime that has developed over the past 14 years of freedom 😦

  4. Amen Sister!!
    I was so sorry to hear of that! It breaks my heart, as I look at those who lost their life! So sad! Thanks for a Great Photo Hunt post!! Have a good one!
    God Bless,
    Keisha

  5. Great take off for FREE PH.
    So sorry about the shooting, prayers and thoughts to all families and friends and everyone.

    One wonders what the world is coming to.

  6. It is so sad the way the world is turning. My prayers are with the families of the loved ones lost. I am glad to hear your daughter is okay. Have a safe trip back.

  7. Oh dear – I am so sorry to read that this happened where your daughter goes to school. I am glad that your girl is safe.

    You are right – there is only one true freedom – freedom in Christ. Thank you so much for sharing this powerful post.

    Blessings to you and yours.

Thanks so much for stopping by! Would love to hear your thoughts!

