A Christmas Meme

I grabbed this Christmas Meme from a blog I found yesterday when I was voting the homeschool blogosphere!  By Sun and Candlelight had posted it on her blog along with an invitation to grab it!  So I did.  I never pass up an easy blogging idea!!  Feel free to grab it and add it to your own blog!  But if you do, please drop me a comment so I can come check out yours!

Wrapping paper or gift bags?

Wrapping paper and beautiful bows…unless I’m in a huge hurry!

Real tree or artificial?

Real…I just LOVE the smell of a real tree.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

When do you put up the tree?

Usually the day after Thanksgiving, though this year we were away from home so had to wait until the next weekend…it was hard to wait!

When do you take the tree down?

Sometime the week after New Years.  It’s always very sad!

Favorite gift received as a child?

That’s a tough one….but I would have to say the Barbie airplane I received when I was about ten years old.

Do you have a nativity scene?

I have 5…some big, some small!!  I got the Willow Tree nativity set as an early Christmas present this year from the big guy.  I love it!


Hardest person to buy for?

My daughter, Nina.  Yikes, she’s the worst!

Easiest person to buy for?

My husband…he is terribly sentimental.  Just get him something that reminds him of the past and he’s a happy camper!

Worst Christmas gift you ever received?

One Christmas I wanted a bike.  I got one, but not the one I wanted.  I was so upset, but didn’t want my parents to know.  I think I faked it pretty well.

Mail or email cards?

Mail…though I’ve had a tough time getting them out every year!

Favorite Christmas movie?

We are REALLY into Christmas movies, but I think my favorite is Remember the Night.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

When do you start shopping for Christmas?

Ha…that’s a good one.  I haven’t started yet.

Have you ever recycled a Christmas present?

I don’t think so though I know I’ve received recycled Christmas presents.

Favorite thing to eat at Christmas?

My mom’s sticky buns on Christmas morning.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

White lights or colored on the tree?

Colored, but my daughters and I were just talking about switching to white though.  We all think we would like the white ones.

Favorite Christmas song?

I LOVE Christmas music.  I think right now though, my favorite is "Mary, Did You Know?"  I just love the theology found in the questions asked of Mary?

"Mary, did you know that your baby boy…

…would save our sons and daughters? (1 Jn 4:14)
…has come to make you new?
(Lk 1:46-47)
…will give sight to a blind man?
(Lk 18:41-43)
…is Lord of all Creation?
(Col. 1:15)
…will one day rule the nations?
(Phil. 2:9-11)
…is Heaven’s perfect lamb? 
(John 1:29)
…is the GREAT I AM?
(John 8:58)

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Travel for Christmas or stay at home?

Sometimes, but not this year.

Can you name all of Santa’s reindeers?

"You know, Dasher and Dancer, Prancer and Vixen, Comet and Cupid and Donder and Blitzen.  But do you recall…the most famous Reindeer of all??"  (I can’t do it without the singing it….)

Angel on the tree top or a star?

Neither…we have 3 small Koala Bears clinging to the top of our tree.  We’ve had them since our VERY first Christmas tree.  Not sure why, but it’s a tradition that we just can’t get rid of!

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Open the presents on Christmas Eve or Christmas Day?

The kids always get PJ’s’ for Christmas.  They open those on Christmas Eve.  Everything else we open on Christmas morning.

Most annoying thing about this time of year?

The busyness of the season.  If there was ever a time of year that I just want to be quiet and reflect, it’s this.  But in reality, this is the time of year with the LEAST amount of time for peace and quiet!

What I love most about Christmas?

Despite the busyness of the season and the culture which seeks to separate Christ from Christmas, I love having an entire month set aside to focus on the advent of the Savior. 

" The Word became flesh and made his dwelling among us. We have seen his glory, the glory of the One and Only, who came from the Father, full of grace and truth.John 1:14

9 responses

  1. I just got this one as an email forward! It was fun to do.

    I enjoyed reading your answers. I love that song "Mary did you know?"

    My favorite line in it is: "When you kiss your little baby – you've kissed the face of God". It made me catch my breath when I first heard it

  2. Yes, that's flour. It's perfect for Matchbox snow plows, road graders, bull dozers, and dump trucks. And no, I do not want the recipe. I want you to make them and send them to me, silly. But if I must make them myself, the recipe will be fine.

  3. I work really hard to make my blog a place that people want to come back to. Unfortunately I am not as perfect as my blog in real life, we rarely are. I try though. Lol.

    Thanks for stopping by.

    Eric Novak

  4. Ooh! I love the way you personalized your answers with pictures!! =D

    And I love the song, too. But my favorite version is the one my daughter sings… Come to our church and take a listen! =D

  5. I love this post… the pictures are great and my favorite is your favorite Christmas song… MINE too!!!
    I like you, take my tree down after New Years…I like to have it last as long as possible…
    Have a very Merry Christmas…

Thanks so much for stopping by! Would love to hear your thoughts!

