A Special Gift

If you have ever seen "My Big Fat Greek Wedding" you’ve had a little glimpse into my life…only in my case, it’s a big, fat Italian family which I inherited by marriage.  My husband is one of seven children.  There are 51 family members in his immediate family.  Family gatherings are sheer chaos.

The matriarch of this brood is my husband’s grandma, Grandma "Sano", a nickname she inherited when one of the great grandkids couldn’t say her real name.  She has 3 children, 14 grandchildren, 46 great-grandchildren, and 7 great-great-grandchildren.  At 95, she can still make a grown man tremble with just a word.  She is respected, loved, and honored by 4 generations of her offspring. 

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Last weekend at a family gathering, she presented her daughter and granddaughters (and granddaughters-in-law!) with a special gift.  It was accompanied by a poem which made it even more special….

This isn’t just a Christmas gift, it has a message too.
Let it serve as a reminder of what loving hands can do.
Never get tired of learning or trying to do some good.
Just look at your little birdhouse, once plain and made of wood;
Aging hands worked tirelessly, to bring this house alive.
I painted, glued, and decorated – all at 95!
May this house bring blessings from our Lord above,
And remember that the maker is sending it with love.

I will cherish it, not for its great beauty or monetary value, but because it is from Gram. 

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

9 responses

  1. And I hate to ruin this sweet post but I had to say "Thank you" for posting that link in Kellieann's blog. I laughed so hard (at another's misfortune which made my day seem so great)… Which, upon reflection, seems so pathetic of me. So never mind….

  2. Thanks for visiting my blog! It's lovely to get "new" visitors around! I'm glad you enjoyed the video clip – his voice is simply stunning, isn't it?
    I loved that little gift you got from your Gram – just too cute!!
    ~Chrissy

  3. aren't grandmas special? I lost mine 15 years ago… she was great. Such a lady through and through.

    In her last Christmas with us she gave each of us one of her old dishes. The one she gave me was from her grandmother, Bertha. It hold a special place for me.

    Although, I'll never forget the time I was with her and she was watching football on TV. Football?? Grandma? I asked her why. She said "I love watching those tight ends."

  4. Aww-I got teary-eyed reading this. She sounds like a beautiful lady. Your story also reminded me of my big Italian family (my dad's side). My short Italian grandma is 84 now and still going strong.
    That birdhouse is so sweet and the poem with it is just so precious. Thanks for sharing. Holly

    P.S-Oh-I got a few comments from your link at Kelliann's blog. They were great! I can laugh about that day now-especially since we've had 2 days free of bodily functions! LOL Thanks for sending them my way-I got a lot of comments from that entry-and enjoyed them all.Edited by ApplesofGold on Dec. 6, 2007 at 6:18 AM

Thanks so much for stopping by! Would love to hear your thoughts!

