Thankful Thursday

Thankful Thursday: 13 Things I’m Thankful For
(An unofficial Thursday Thirteen)

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Autumn: There is no other time of year that fills my heart with more gratitude.  I think it’s the beauty combined with the approach of Thanksgiving and the Advent of our Savior.  But whatever the reason, when I see scenes like these, my heart just wants to sing!


Stormy Lake:
To me, this place is heaven on earth!  I am more at rest here than anywhere else!  This picture says it all!

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
Blogging Friends
It’s been an incredibly fun 2 months of “baptism” into the world of blogging.  I had NO idea how huge, and how confusing, this strange world would be.  A few of my new friends have made the journey especially sweet.  A special thanks to Kellieann, Crossview, Arby, and Heather for your regular encouragement and MANY laughs!

Old Friends:  You know, the kind of friends that even if you haven’t seen them for a long time, when you see them, it’s just good!  Sharing joys and sorrows with them is a privilege.  I thank God for them!

Our Home:  I am SO thankful to the Lord for His provision of our home.  After 18 years in ministry, we never dreamed that a home like this would be a possibility.  He didn’t have to, but He chose to bless us with a home near family and our church.  It’s not big or beautiful, but it has become a tangible symbol of God’s faithfulness to us, and we are incredibly grateful.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
Our Church:  For 18 years, our church supported us in our full time ministry to troubled young men and women.  We are extremely thankful for THEIR faithfulness to us and are thrilled that God has given us the opportunity to give something back to them!

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

My Husband:  For more than 22 years, he has been my best friend and the love of my life.  He makes me laugh and he lets me cry!  He challenges me to grow and he shows me grace.  He leads our family with love, strength, and humor.  He is, indeed, “the better part of me”.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

My Children:
How does one go about saying thanks for something so incredible as children?  I can’t begin to express my thanks to the Lord for the privilege of parenting these four precious children.  They have each been so uniquely gifted by God…I can’t wait to see where the Lord will take them!  They are, without a doubt, the biggest joy of my life!

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Our Families:  Wow…what a blessing to have such a wonderful, fun, silly, loud, crazy AND God-honoring family.  I’m thankful for my parents…they have been such an example to me.  I’m thankful for my husband’s parents and their love for Jesus.  I’m thankful for the children….LOTS of children….who, one-by-one are coming to trust the Saviour, too.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Music: I love music.  It speaks to my soul like nothing else can.  It comforts me, convicts me, strengthens me, inspires, and delights me.  In fact, I can’t imagine my life without music!

Hymns: I love contemporary music…especially praise and worship music.  But, it saddens me that a generation of young people are growing up without the great blessing of knowing hymns.  Hymns are filled with a richness of theology and a deep understanding of the character of God which shouldn’t be discarded.  When I am troubled, singing hymns brings peace…God’s peace…to my soul.

“When peace like a river attendeth my way,
When sorrows like sea billows roll,
Whatever my lot, thou hast taught me to say,
It is well, it is well, with my soul.

“My sin, oh the bliss of this glorious thought,
My sin, not in part but the whole
Is nailed to the cross and I bear it no more!
Praise the Lord!
Praise the Lord, Oh my soul!

It is well with my soul!!”

The Peace of God“Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus.”  Philippians 4:6-7, NLT.

Jesus, My Savior and my God: I have no words to express how thankful I am for the gift of Jesus, my Savior.  Without Him, where would I be?  “For in Him we live and move and have our being.”

Happy Thanksgiving!


Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

6 responses

  1. We are very blessed. For two months into blogging you maintain a great blog and have been a real encouragement to me (my kids are younger and it is always encouraging to see other homeschoolers with older great kids.:))

  2. What a sweet surprise! *sniff* Thank you so much for the kind words! =D
    I didn't realize you're a newbie??!! *gasp* So glad I *met* you!
    What a beautiful list you've done.

    And I especially love the handprint turkey at the end! LOL!
    Hope you're Thanksgiving was wonder-filled…

  3. We must have started blogging here about the same time. Your blog looks a lot better than mine ever will. Great list! Happy Thanksgiving. Thank you for the kind words. Did I see the caption on the photo correctly? Are you in Lombard, as in Lombard, IL? The same Lombard that I used to live in?

Thanks so much for stopping by! Would love to hear your thoughts!

