Introducing…..Friday Night at the Movies

We love movies at our house…mostly oldies, but some recent ones as well, so from now on, Friday night is movie night on my blog!  Each week I will be spotlighting one of my favorites in hopes that maybe you’ll find a new one to love!!  Tonight’s movie is one of my all time favorites.  We just watched it again last week…I had forgotten just how much I LOVE this ending!!

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

"Gaslight" is a 1944 remake of an earlier version by the same name.  This version, directed by George Cukor, is definitely the better of the two.  It starred Ingrid Bergman, Charles Boyer, Joseph Cotten, and introduced an adorable, eighteen-year-old Angela Lansbury in her screen debut.  At the 1944 Academy Awards, this film was nominated for four awards: Best Picture, Best Actress for Ingrid Bergman, Best Actor for Charles Boyer, and Best Supporting Actress for Angela Lansbury. From that list, only Ingrid Bergman won an Oscar.

 

I’d tell you more, but I don’t want to spoil the ending, so just pop some popcorn and enjoy!!  Oh, and don’t forget to leave your "Thumbs up" or "Thumbs down" in my comments after you have a chance to watch it!!

One response

  1. Ooh! An oldie I've missed! I'll have to keep an eye open for it….

    Our 25 yr-old loves the old movies with a young Angela Lansbury. =D

Thanks so much for stopping by! Would love to hear your thoughts!

