The Top 10 Reasons Why I Homeschool

“Why did you decide to homeschool?”

It’s not an unusual question, in fact if I’ve answered it once in my nearly 20 years of homeschooling, I’ve answered it a hundred times!  Well, from now on instead of trying to come up with an answer every time someone asks, I think I’ll just hand them a copy of my recently created Top 10 Reasons Why I Homeschool.  Enjoy!

The Top 10 Reasons Why I Homeschool

  • Pajamas are less expensive than school clothes.
  • Not all kids can color in the lines for 3 hours at the age of 5 1/2
  • The lines are shorter at Disney World in early October.
  • I want to experience the joy of teaching my child to read and watch the joy on his face when he reads his first chapter book!
  • Kids NEED socialization that doesn’t include getting made fun of for wearing the wrong brand of athletic shoes to school!
  • Kids are allowed to pray AND sing “Away in a Manger” and “Joy to the World” in MY school.
  • There’s something seriously wrong with a system which thinks that it can place 30 children with 17 different learning styles into one classroom with one teacher and expect them all to learn something.
  • School isn’t supposed to be entertaining,  it’s supposed to be about learning.
  • I LIKE my kids and I WANT to be with them all day!

And the #1 Reason that I homeschool my kids is……

  • Homeschooling WORKS!!
11 responses

  1. What a great list! I would have to add that I am raising several children with special needs and they don't know they are different or "how" different than the norm. THey are happy, confident children who are finding ways around their difficulties. They know God does not make mistakes and they are the way they are because God made them that way for a special reason.
    Blessings,
    4sweetums

  2. I liked reason #2. I find there are so many people that don't understand how a person could actually enjoy being with their children all day! It strikes me as so sad! I'm enjoying your blog and I've noticed we have a few things in common. I was wonderfully surprised when my youngest two were born. I thought I couldn't have children anymore. I'm having a blast even though I'm having trouble figuring out how to do it all. I guess that is part of the reason I'm always in my pajamas! LOL I've heard of flylady, I just haven't taken her good advice yet. I'm sure it is because I just enjoy my sleep too much.

    pajamamama

  3. OK…we always go to Disney each year in October just because of that reason!
    And I, too, love spending all day with my son. He's hillarious, smart, witty, & so much fun to be with all day long. Great list!

  4. My daughter said learning is entertaining! Is it obvious she's never gone to school? ;o)
    Thanks for visiting my Blogspot blog! I duel post here on HSB.
    I try to get new comics up on Monday, Wednesday and Friday, unless we're off on an adventure…
    Peace and Laughter,
    Cristina

  5. Reading this post a year later..love your reason..(I SO love not worrying about what my daughter has to wear to school…) but alas, we can't afford disney land.

    Your line on what they're exposed to..I remember my second youngest (now 15) coming home in first grade and asking what a BJ is (joked about from a 4th grader…). Sickens me what they hear on the bus and from schoolmates. Socializiaton? I'd rather choose who they socialize with when they're young thank you very much…I don't swear at home but my kids certainly picked up every word at a very young age from school. Too protective? No. I'm actually a very liberal parent. But what goes in comes out (in most cases)…

    Homeschooling my youngest was the best thing I ever did. Wish I knew about it when my other kids were young. (But, being a single parent with five kids and having to work – I don't think I could have done it. I'm disabled now and am able to be home full-time with my sixth. Kind of a blessing in disguise.)

    My number one reason? My daughter is happier and healthier and will end up enjoying learning and being able to teach herself instead of relying on other people to teach her when she gets older. Instilling a love for learning is the most important thing.
    Second? Flexibility. We're night owls.
    Third? She's very active. Homeschooling fits her activity level. Active is good. (Children sitting five hours a day is NOT healthy.)

  6. So glad you stopped by….even if it was a year later! I am planning to do an addition to my top 10 reasons in a week or two….still working on it!

    Again…thanks for stopping…come back any time!!

  7. Hi, Linda. Great to see your blog. I would add that the only important reason to homeschool, for a Christ-follower, is that He has instructed you to do so. We have chosen to follow a different path for just this reason.

Thanks so much for stopping by! Would love to hear your thoughts!

